daily rant – 00055 – ‘news’

News is generally defined as:

Newly received or noteworthy information, especially about recent or important events.

Noteworthy. Important. IMPORTANT. NEWS! I could not stress ‘Important’ enough. You can imagine my utmost disgust when I loaded up the local paper’s webpage to get the NEWS and I’m greeted with ‘Why Starbucks Christmas cup has some Christians seeing red’. The only way this could be news is if I clicked the link and was greeted with ‘Starbucks stock has dropped, investors seeing red.’ Or ‘Starbucks cups have been exploding in Christian customers hands leaving them bloody and disfigured seeing nothing but red’. News. Something I can say ‘huh, well would you look at that’ and then apply it to my everyday life by not buying Starbucks as their cups could potentially blow up in my face whether I’m Christian or not.

This is an exact quote from the article, stemming from the Washington Post: “Some say Jesus Christ healed the sick and died to redeem humankind. Little is said about his views on the Pumpkin Spice Latte.” Riveting. Thanks, Washington Post. What’s next? Video of someone’s dad going to Vegas and accidentally recording the stunning Vegas sights on his son’s GoPro…in selfie mode?

This isn’t news people! That’s just a story you tell your buddy over a beer and then have a laugh. It’s stuff for social media. News and social media should be two separate entities. News should be something respectable, not something to appeal to a certain age group. News should be unbiased facts of events going on in the world and not 10 foods that’ll make you say ‘wowee zowee!’. Sadly, it will never be completely separate. It is a competition. News is being forced to insert these ‘click bait’ articles to stay relevant in this world of Generation Z. iGen. The Post Millennials. I’ve said it time and time again in my rants, we as a species are devolving…a term is like to think I coined back in rant 00026.

By the way, the Starbucks cups never actually said ‘Christmas’ on them, they only removed the tree and the snowflakes. Trees and snowflakes don’t define Christmas you ignorant human being. I hate you for getting me to even acknowledge your stupid face.

Rantbot, out.

news

 

RP
11/18/2015

2 thoughts on “daily rant – 00055 – ‘news’

Leave a Reply

