daily rant – 00048 – the channel formerly known as TLC

Hey!  Remember when you used to actually learn shit from watching The Learning Channel?

I remember when I was younger, there would ALWAYS be something interesting to watch on TV.  One show that sticks out was the surgery show.  Actually, I think it was called the Operation.  They would televise an entire operation, uncut!  It was awesome!  Also, who can forget Junkyard Wars??  The show where they took junk and built other junk!  AMAZING entertainment.  And no, I’m not being sarcastic.  I love that shit.  What have you become TLC??  Shame!  Shame on you!

Junkyard Wars

If they’re going to show non-learning programming, they SHOULD at least think about renaming their channel.  Here are some suggestions: Food Network 2, Creepy People Channel, WTF, People Getting Married.  Those are just a few, think about it TLC.  For those of you not familiar with the programming which you can currently see on TLC, here is a short list of their headlining shows, which I have broken down in to categories for you:

Mostly Cake: Cake Boss, DC Cupcakes, Fabulous Cakes, Kitchen Boss, The Next Great Baker.

Wedding Crap: Four Weddings, Say Yes To The Dress, Say Yes To The Dress: Atlanta, Say Yes To The Dress: Big Bliss (for some reason they need 3 different versions of this show), My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding, Sister Wives.

Kids Much?: 19 Kids And Counting, A Conception Story, I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant (how?!?), Kate Plus 8, Quints By Surprise, Toddlers And Tiaras (disturbing).

Umm WTF?: Extreme Couponing, Freaky Eaters, Hoarding: Buried Alive, Strange Sex, Police Women Of Broward County (where the F is Broward County??), My Strange Addiction.

 

useless

These shows teach me nothing!  NOTHING!!!

All I can say is, thank God for the Discovery Channel…wait…is it right to be thanking God for a channel where 75% of programming is about evolution?

Boom De Ya Da,

-RP

Jul 12/11

Leave a Reply

