daily rant – 00021 – enter the groundhog

You know, I’d like to think that we live in a pretty intelligent society.   We are medically, scientifically and technologically advanced.   I don’t think that there’s anything that can prove that wrong………enter the groundhog day.

Yes, it’s that time again.  February 2nd.  Groundhog Day.  It’s the only day you’ll ever wake up and see a rodent headlining the morning news.  Are you kidding me??   Are you telling me that nothing happened the night before that’s more important than a groundhog coming out of its hole?  This is my interpretation of what happens based on some of the newscasts I’ve seen; hundreds of people gather around a fat man in a tux with a top hat and a monocle as he reads from a scroll.   A scroll that was supposedly written by the groundhog, in poem form mind you, while huddled in his hole over the winter.  He pops out and hands over the scroll to the man in the monocle and then sees his shadow and runs away.  It might not happen EXACTLY like that, but that’s my impression of the whole ceremony.

I just can’t wrap my brain around the idea that we’re supposed to believe that a rodent has a higher education than the everyday weather person.  And we don’t just keep track of one of them, there are several of these things!  Why not just stick them in a meeting room and let them come to a consensus so that we never end up with a tie.  I also find it hard to believe that we as humans rely on a rat to let us know whether or not spring will come early or if we’ll have 6 more weeks of winter.  Well here’s a little bit of news for you…no scratch that, here’s a FACT, spring arrives on March 21st, every year, no sooner, no later.

Now don’t get me wrong, I know that we don’t actually rely on a groundhog.  It’s just a tradition.  What tradition?  I couldn’t tell you.  Am I the least bit interested in finding out why we have this tradition?  NOPE!  Am I a jerk for ranting about something without knowing the full story?   Probably.  The thing is, I just don’t care.  I KNOW I can’t be the only one.  And I know there will be people commenting on this rant saying that you do care…LIARS!  I even refuse to watch that movie with Bill Murray.  You want a prediction?  Here’s my prediction for what weather lies ahead for us in the next 6 weeks: it will snow, possibly hail.  Some days it will be around the 0 degree mark, some days will be -15, some days will even be above 0 degrees.  Snow will melt, people might wear shorts, jackets will be stored away once more in the back of closets.  We go through this every year, we know the drill, yet we can’t help but feel disappointed when that stupid groundhog sees its shadow because he always takes away whatever bit of hope we had left for warm weather.

Hang in there people, the warm weather is on its way, we’ve made it this far, don’t let the groundhog get to you!

I’m Out!

-RP

Feb 2/09

 

Leave a Reply

