daily rant – 00012 – say no to smoking…and win!

I recently heard a report that kids in high school can get a sponsor, and if they promise not to smoke throughout their high school life, they can get up to $5,000.

http://www.newswire.ca/en/releases/archive/January2008/17/c9682.html

Sounds too good to be true doesn’t it?  Kind of sounds like those spam emails you get in your inbox.  You know, the ones that say click this link and win a free iPhone, or improve your sex life with a pill, or better yet, enlarge your…ego.   Then your co-workers catch a glimpse and you have to explain to them that it’s just spam and they laugh at you and life goes on.

Anyways, getting back to the issue…really?  Don’t smoke and get $5,000???   The most I got in high school for not smoking was a chance to not be popular and to not hang out with the “cool kids” on the “smoking patch”.  This idea has been brought to us in part by R.E.W.A.R.D.S. (Rewarding Everyone Who Acts Responsibly and Doesn’t Smoke).  This isn’t a joke people.   Not only is that the lamest acronym I’ve ever seen, but this is the dumbest idea I’ve ever heard of!

FIRST of all, children in high school shouldn’t be smoking.  Period.
SECOND of all, they shouldn’t be getting rewarded for shit they shouldn’t be doing in the first place!

When I was in high school, I wouldn’t dare pick up a cigarette, let alone even THINK about smoking.  Why you ask? Fear.  For my health?  Maybe a little.  But mostly out of fear of my parents finding out and beating my ass.  I think that’s what children are lacking nowadays.  Fear.  Lack of discipline.  Yet again, I digress.

What I’m trying to say is that they need to go back to rewarding kids for excelling in school and helping out the community and not giving it to kids that make a vow not to smoke.  I haven’t smoked a cigarette all my life, what do I get?  Where’s my acronym?

S.U.C.K.E.R. (Sucker)

Peace.

-RP

Apr 7/08

 

Leave a Reply

